halal-poland-faq-top-hp-system

1. What is halal certification?

The Halal certificate confirms the product’s compliance with Islamic requirements for the production, packaging and storage of products.

Religious terms – halal (permitted) and haram (forbidden) refer to various areas of human life.

According to the rules, products must not contain alcohol or other unauthorized raw materials, such as pork and animal blood.

2. Why do I need halal certification?

Halal products market includes over 1.6 billion Muslims in the world who choose halal products following their believes.

International market of halal products is the fastest area of the food industry. Halal certificate is a pass for business contacts with customers looking for products that comply with the principles of religion.

3. Are kosher products halal or can they be?

Halal means what is acceptable and in accordance with the Islamic law. The Halal System is a standard of nutrition law for all believers of Islam.

Kosher in Hebrew language means appropriate, right. The kosher system is based on the principles of Judaism regarding the ritual purity of food and objects.

As such, both systems are similar, based on the principles of a given monotheistic religion. However, they differ on many points, which does not allow mutual recognition.

Chosen examples:

  • Islam prohibits all intoxicating products, for example: alcohol, drugs or cigarettes. Judaism regards alcoholic products: vodka and wine in some cases as kosher.
  • The kosher system prohibits mixing meat products with dairy while Islam does not say anything about it.

4. What does halal, haam, najis and mashbooh status mean?

Halal  – that, what is permitted; compatible with islamic law.

Haram – that, what is forbidden; for example pigs and alcohol.

Mashbooh – uncertain, doubtful; the status of particular product is not clear, without precise analysis it is not possible to clearly determine whether they are allowed or prohibited.

Najis – ritually unclean things, prohibited; for example: alcohol, animals that were not ritually slaughtered, blood, urine.

5. What can be a subject of certification?

The Halal System covers many industries.

In Europe it is mainly:

  • food production – all products, provided that the raw materials and the production process are in accordance with the principles of religion, e.g. bottling of mineral water, confectionery production, dairy, slaughter of allowed animals;
  • pharmaceutical production – production of medicines, dietary supplements;
  • cosmetic production – cosmetics for body and hair care, colored cosmetics.

In Muslim countries, certification also covers sectors such as:

  • banking;
  • fashion (clothes, accessories, haberdashery);
  • tourism;
  • media.

6. Can vegetarian or vegan food be halal?

Grains, vegetables, fruits, eggs, milk from halal animals – these products have halal status (they are allowed).

However, only by choosing a vegetarian or vegan product does not automatically qualify it as halal, as it may be cross-contaminated with prohibited products (e.g. alcohol).

7. What are the rules of ritual slaughter?

Ritual slaughter involves manually cutting arteries and jugular veins, the trachea and esophagus of animal species allowed in Islam. A slaughter without prior stunning is the highest standard of a religious slaughter.

A deep incision on the animal’s throat is executed by a Muslim uttering words of prayer: Bismillah (In the name of Allah) and Allah Akbar (Allah is great). The blood from the slaughtered animal must flow down to the maximum.